History of the Foundation

Mission & service area | Impact of your gifts | Giving opportunities | Infinity Club | Scholarships | Foundation Focus newsletter (PDF) | Annual report (PDF) | Gifts made in 2009 | History | Contact us | Home

The Aurora Health Foundation was founded in 1981 as the Sheboygan Memorial Hospital Foundation and, as such, operated exclusively for charitable purposes for the benefit of that hospital. In 1983, the Foundation's name was changed to Sheboygan Memorial Health Foundation and expanded its services to include funding selected community health projects.

In 1992, Sheboygan Memorial Hospital joined Aurora Health Care, which was created in 1984. To reflect this, the Foundation's name was changed to Aurora Medical Centers Health Foundation. Aurora Health Care was becoming more established throughout northeastern Wisconsin by partnering with the Sheboygan Visiting Nurse Association and Two Rivers Community Hospital in 1993 (which transformed into the newly constructed Aurora Medical Center in Manitowoc County in 2000), Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay in 2000 and Aurora Medical Center in Oshkosh in 2003.

In addition, Aurora Medical Group, a system of clinic sites, was launched in 1990 and expanded into the area as well. With the growth, the Foundation's name was changed to the Aurora Health Foundation Central Region to reflect an organizational transformation. In December 2003, the name was again changed to the Aurora Health Foundation in light of additional organizational change.

Today, the Aurora Health Foundation supports the needs of three Aurora Medical Centers (hospitals), 52 Aurora Health Centers (clinics), five Vince Lombardi Cancer Clinic sites and the Aurora Visiting Nurse Association throughout Aurora's Central and North Regions. Counties include Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan, Waupaca, Waushara and Winnebago.